什么是桌面虚拟化? 

桌面虚拟化技术允许用户模拟工作站负载,以从连接的设备远程或本地访问桌面。这将桌面环境及其应用程序与用于访问它的物理客户端设备分离。桌面虚拟化是数字化工作空间的关键元素,依赖于应用程序虚拟化

关于桌面虚拟化的关键主题:

桌面虚拟化是如何工作的?

桌面虚拟化可以通过多种方式实现,但最重要的两类桌面虚拟化基于操作系统实例是在本地还是远程运行。

本地桌面虚拟化

本地桌面虚拟化意味着,操作系统在使用硬件虚拟化的客户端设备上运行,所有处理和工作负载都发生在本地硬件上。当用户不需要连续的网络连接,并且可以使用本地系统资源满足应用程序计算要求时,这种桌面虚拟化非常适合。但是,由于这需要在本地完成处理,因此不能使用本地桌面虚拟化来通过网络将虚拟机或资源共享给瘦客户机或移动设备。

远程桌面虚拟化

远程桌面虚拟化是在客户端/服务器计算环境中运行的虚拟化的常见用途。这允许用户从数据中心内的服务器运行操作系统和应用程序,而所有用户交互都在客户端设备上进行。此客户端设备可以是笔记本电脑、瘦客户机设备或智能手机。其结果是,IT 部门对应用程序和桌面有更集中的控制,并且可以通过远程访问共享计算资源来最大限度利用组织对 IT 硬件的投资。

什么是虚拟桌面基础架构?

一种流行的桌面虚拟化类型是虚拟桌面基础架构 (VDI)。VDI 是桌面虚拟化的客户端-服务器模型的一种变体,它使用基于主机的虚拟机向连接的各类设备提供持久性和非持久性虚拟桌面。借助持久性虚拟桌面,每个用户都有唯一桌面映像,他们可以使用应用程序和数据进行自定义,知道它将被保存以供将来使用。非持久性虚拟桌面基础架构允许用户在需要时从相同的池访问虚拟桌面;一旦用户从非持久性 VDI 注销,它将恢复到其未更改的状态。虚拟桌面基础架构的一些优点包括:可提高跨组织的安全性和集中式桌面管理。

桌面虚拟化有哪些优势?

  1. 资源管理:
    桌面虚拟化通过将大部分计算整合到数据中心,从而帮助 IT 部门最大限度地利用硬件投资。然后,桌面虚拟化允许组织向最终用户提供低成本的计算机和设备,因为大部分密集计算工作都在数据中心进行。通过将最终用户对端点设备的计算需求降到最低程度,IT 部门可以购买成本更低的计算机,从而节省资金。
  2. 远程工作:
    桌面虚拟化让 IT 能够集中控制如何在组织设备上虚拟部署桌面,从而帮助 IT 管理员支持远程工作者。使用桌面虚拟化,IT 无需为每个用户手动设置新的桌面,而是只需将准备就绪的虚拟桌面部署到该用户的设备即可。现在,用户可以从任何位置与该桌面上的操作系统和应用程序进行交互,并且员工体验与他们在本地工作时相同。用户使用完该虚拟桌面后,可以注销并将该桌面映像返回到共享池。
  3. 安全性:
    通过桌面虚拟化软件,IT 管理员可以集中安全控制哪些用户可以访问哪些数据和哪些应用程序。如果用户的权限因离开公司而更改,桌面虚拟化使 IT 能够轻松快速地删除该用户对其持久性虚拟桌面及其所有数据的访问权限,而不必手动卸载该用户设备中的所有内容。而且,由于所有公司数据都位于数据中心而不是每台计算机上,因此丢失或被盗的设备不会带来相同的数据风险。如果有人盗取了使用桌面虚拟化的笔记本电脑,由于实际的计算机上没有任何公司数据,因此泄漏的风险就更小。

其他资源:

What is desktop virtualization?

Desktop virtualization is technology that lets users simulate a workstation load to access a desktop from a connected device remotely or locally. This separates the desktop environment and its applications from the physical client device used to access it. Desktop virtualization is a key element of digital workspaces and depends on application virtualization.

Key topics about desktop virtualization:

How does desktop virtualization work?

Desktop virtualization can be achieved in a variety of ways, but the most important two types of desktop virtualization are based on whether the operating system instance is local or remote.

Local Desktop Virtualization

Local desktop virtualization means the operating system runs on a client device using hardware virtualization, and all processing and workloads occur on local hardware. This type of desktop virtualization works well when users do not need a continuous network connection and can meet application computing requirements with local system resources. However, because this requires processing to be done locally you cannot use local desktop virtualization to share VMs or resources across a network to thin clients or mobile devices.

Remote Desktop Virtualization

Remote desktop virtualization is a common use of virtualization that operates in a client/server computing environment. This allows users to run operating systems and applications from a server inside a data center while all user interactions take place on a client device. This client device could be a laptop, thin client device, or a smartphone. The result is IT departments have more centralized control over applications and desktops, and can maximize the organization’s investment in IT hardware through remote access to shared computing resources.

What is virtual desktop infrastructure?

A popular type of desktop virtualization is virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI). VDI is a variant of the client-server model of desktop virtualization which uses host-based VMs to deliver persistent and nonpersistent virtual desktops to all kinds of connected devices. With a persistent virtual desktop, each user has a unique desktop image that they can customize with apps and data, knowing it will be saved for future use. A nonpersistent virtual desktop infrastructure allows users to access a virtual desktop from an identical pool when they need it; once the user logs out of a nonpersistent VDI, it reverts to its unaltered state. Some of the advantages of virtual desktop infrastructure are improved security and centralized desktop management across an organization.

What are the benefits of desktop virtualization?

  1. Resource Management:
    Desktop virtualization helps IT departments get the most out of their hardware investments by consolidating most of their computing in a data center. Desktop virtualization then allows organizations to issue lower-cost computers and devices to end users because most of the intensive computing work takes place in the data center. By minimizing how much computing is needed at the endpoint devices for end users, IT departments can save money by buying less costly machines.
  2. Remote work:
    Desktop virtualization helps IT admins support remote workers by giving IT central control over how desktops are virtually deployed across an organization’s devices. Rather than manually setting up a new desktop for each user, desktop virtualization allows IT to simply deploy a ready-to-go virtual desktop to that user’s device. Now the user can interact with the operating system and applications on that desktop from any location and the employee experience will be the same as if they were working locally. Once the user is finished using this virtual desktop, they can log off and return that desktop image to the shared pool.
  3. Security:
    Desktop virtualization software provides IT admins centralized security control over which users can access which data and which applications. If a user’s permissions change because they leave the company, desktop virtualization makes it easy for IT to quickly remove that user’s access to their persistent virtual desktop and all its data—instead of having to manually uninstall everything from that user’s devices. And because all company data lives inside the data center rather than on each machine, a lost or stolen device does not post the same data risk. If someone steals a laptop using desktop virtualization, there is no company data on the actual machine and hence less risk of a breach.

Additional resources: