波里市

波里市坐落于芬兰西南海岸,是一座冉冉升起的国际贸易和人文之城,人口为 85,000 人。市政府的办事原则为:“我们找市民办事,市民无需来找我们。” 为了更贴近市民,波里市的 7,000 名员工分散在大约 400 座建筑中。

挑战:为所有员工营造灵活的移动环境

波里市政府的员工们在办公室间奔波、拜访现场和市民方面花费了大量的时间。移动办公人员使用手提电脑,但其他员工使用桌面电脑,这让他们无法离开办公桌,没办法提高效率。移动办公人员则需要使用日益老化的 VPN 解决方案连接中心资源,也因此受到限制。他们仅能使用手提电脑连接 Wi-Fi 或使用网线才能访问需要的数据和应用程序。但当处于偏僻的郊区或城区建筑工地时,员工常常也无法获得稳定的网络连接。

波里市政府希望无论他们的员工身处何处,都能高效地完成工作。市政府也希望全部 7,000 名员工能够选择在家办公。然而,任何远程访问解决方案都要保证城市数据的安全,这十分重要。与此同时,波里市的 IT 系统专家 Jori Pasanen 和他的团队正在寻求机会,希望能适时提高 IT 管理效率,并降低成本。

解决方案:随时随地向任何设备安全交付应用和数据

Pasanen 和他的团队与铂金级 Citrix 解决方案顾问 Atea 合作开发了能够满足波里市需求的解决方案。Pasanen 说道:“刚开始实施项目时,我们便意识到我们需要一位既充分了解不同解决方案、又能深入了解组策略和认证的合作伙伴。”

波里市团队和 Atea 共同制定了使用 Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 和 Citrix Gateway 的解决方案。Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 能够为员工的设备提供托管共享桌面。当面临少数专业使用情况时,例如,员工使用像 AutoCAD 这样的图形密集型应用程序,波里市政府将使用 Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 来提供完整的虚拟桌面基础架构,并为任何合适的设备专门指定计算资源,例如传统的个人计算机或瘦客户机终端。

随着办公室个人计算机的租约逐渐到期,波里市政府将逐渐将这些设备迁移为瘦客户机终端。市政府的手提电脑硬件租期为三年,桌面计算机硬件租期为四年。“与个人计算机相比,瘦客户机的使用寿命要长的多,而维护成本更低。当然,也更省电。”

移动办公人员会使用手提电脑或归波里市所有的平板设备来访问信息。借助于 Citrix Gateway,任何运行 Citrix Workspace 应用程序的设备均能够快速、安全地访问 Windows 桌面。

主要优势

实现灵活的远程办公

波里市的很多办公室都营造了方便人们共享工作空间的环境。无论员工在拜访哪个办公室,他们可以更方便地进行协作,或者组建临时项目团队进行合作。Citrix 虚拟桌面解决方案使得员工可以在任何办公室使用任何传统的个人电脑或瘦客户机终端登录他们的 Windows 桌面。正如 Pasanen 说的那样:“Citrix 解决方案能够随时提供用户所需的应用程序。大家非常愿意甚至乐意使用这样的解决方案,而每个部门都已采用了这样的解决方案。”

即便出行受到影响,例如出现恶劣的天气,大家也能在家高效开展工作,这能够帮助波里市正常运转,并且还能减少通勤对环境造成的影响。Pasanen 说道:“由于很多人都在家办公,很多员工都将过去通勤的时间用在了工作上。”

为 IT 部门节约成本,提高效率

这样的解决方案也能够帮助减少 IT 成本,这是因为与个人计算机相比,瘦客户机终端价格更低、更节能、而使用寿命更长。Pasanen 说道:“使用这些终端能帮助我们每年节省 100,000 欧元(约 111,000 美元)。” Citrix 技术也让他的团队变得更加高效。“由于数据和应用程序托管在中央服务器中,我们可以集中管理桌面并保证其安全。无需实地访问全部 400 个位置,我们便能够安装应用程序、打补丁、升级,而数据一直集中进行备份。”

由于桌面管理得到了简化,Pasanen 的团队现在有了更多时间关注波里市的战略性 IT 需求。“由于我们可以将更多的时间投入到创新中,我们的工作变得更有趣,也更具有挑战性。”

展望未来

随着当前租约逐渐到期,Pasanen 和他的团队将继续使用瘦客户机和移动设备来替换传统的个人电脑。他们很快便会使用 Citrix Workspace 应用程序来淘汰波里市的老旧 VPN 解决方案。他们也会将用户的桌面升级为 Windows 10,而由于桌面运行系统运行在中央服务器中,升级计划也将十分简单。

未来,波里市的 2,000 名医疗工作人员和社会工作人员(他们会使用波里市或芬兰南部医疗组织的专业供应商 Medbit 所提供的信息和通讯技术服务)可能也会在拜访市民家或在社区诊所中使用 Citrix 解决方案来访问敏感的个人信息。Citrix Workspace 应用程序能够通过个人、波里市所有或 Medbit 所有的设备访问波里市的信息,从而让波里市和 Medbit 安全地共享信息和基础架构。

Citrix 解决方案能够随时提供用户所需的应用程序。大家非常愿意甚至乐意使用这样的解决方案,而每个部门都已采用了这样的解决方案。由于很多人都在家办公,很多员工都将过去通勤的时间用在了工作上。
- Jori Pasanen

IT 系统专家

City of Pori

关于 Citrix

Citrix(纳斯达克:CTXS)旨在推动建立一个安全连接人员、组织和事物且易于访问的世界,让不可能变为可能。Citrix 的技术使全球的应用程序和数据安全且易于访问,助力人们随时随地开展工作。Citrix 提供将工作空间作为服务、应用交付、虚拟化、移动化、网络传输和文件共享解决方案的完整和集成产品组合,使 IT 部门能够确保通过云或内部部署和跨任何设备或平台将关键系统安全地提供给用户。Citrix 解决方案在全球范围内被超过 40 万个组织和超过 1 亿用户所采用,2015 年的全年收入额达到 32.8 亿美元。如需了解更多信息,请访问 www.citrix.com.cn

©2016 Citrix Systems Inc. 保留所有权利。Citrix、XenDesktop、XenApp、XenMobile、NetScaler Gateway 和 Citrix Receiver 是 Citrix Systems Inc. 和/或其一个或多个子公司的商标,并且可能已在美国专利与商标局和其他国家/地区注册。所有其他商标和注册商标均为其各自所有人的财产。

由于我们可以将更多的时间投入到创新中,我们的工作变得更有趣,也更具有挑战性。
- Jori Pasanen

IT 系统专家

City of Pori

行业

主要优势 

  • 实现灵活的远程办公
  • 为 IT 部门节约成本,提高效率

Citrix 产品

City of Pori

Pori, on the southwest coast of Finland, is a thriving city of international trade and culture with a population of 85,000. The city government operates under the ethos, “We come to the people, the people don’t come to us.” To be closer to citizens, Pori’s 7,000 workers operate from approximately 400 separate buildings.

The challenge: Creating a flexible, mobile environment for all workers

Pori’s workers spend a significant amount of time traveling between offices or visiting sites and citizens. Mobile workers were using laptops, but other workers were using desktop computers, which limited their ability to be effective away from their desks. Even mobile workers were constrained by the ageing VPN solution they used to connect to central resources. They could only access required data and applications from their laptops over a Wi-Fi or cable connection. But this was not always possible when visiting remote rural areas or urban construction sites.

Pori wanted to help its workers be effective wherever they were. The city also wanted to give all 7,000 employees the choice of working from home. However, it was important that any remote access solution maintain the security of the city’s data. At the same time, Jori Pasanen, Pori’s IT systems specialist, and his team were seeking opportunities to improve the efficiency of IT management and to reduce costs whenever possible.

The solution: Delivering apps and data securely to any device, anywhere

Pasanen and his team worked with Citrix Platinum Solution Advisor Atea to develop a solution that would meet the city’s needs. “We realised early in the project that we needed a partner with both a wide knowledge of different solutions and a deep knowledge in areas such as group policies and certification,” Pasanen said.

Together, the teams from Pori and Atea developed a solution using Citrix ® XenDesktop® Enterprise Edition, Citrix XenApp®, Citrix XenMobile® MDM Edition, and NetScaler Gateway™. XenApp delivers a hosted shared desktop to workers’ devices. In a small number of specialized cases—for example, users of graphic-intensive applications such as AutoCAD—Pori uses XenDesktop to provide a full virtual desktop infrastructure with dedicated computing resources to any suitable device, such as a legacy PC or a thin-client terminal.

Within its offices, Pori will gradually migrate to thin-client terminals from PCs as the leases on the equipment come to an end. The city leases its hardware over three years for laptops and four years for desktops. “Thin clients have a much longer lifecycle and require less maintenance than a PC. Of course, they also consume much less energy,” said Pasanen.

Mobile workers use either laptops or city-owned tablet devices to access their information. NetScaler Gateway provides easy and secure access to Windows desktops from any device running Citrix Receiver™. XenMobile MDM Edition adds important device-level security, allowing the IT team to enforce password protection and data encryption on city-owned or personal devices. Importantly, XenMobile enables the team to remotely wipe data from a lost or stolen device so that sensitive city information is always protected. The solution helps Pori to meet an increasing number of requests from employees to use personal devices such as iPad tablets or smartphones for work tasks.

Key benefits

 

Enabling flexible and remote working

Many of Pori’s offices have created an environment that allows people to share workspaces when they are most convenient. They can collaborate more easily and work together in ad-hoc project teams regardless of which office they are visiting. The Citrix virtual desktop solution lets workers log on to their Windows desktops from any legacy PC or a thin-client terminal in any office. As Pasanen said, “The Citrix solution delivers the applications users need, wherever they want. People have been very positive and eager to embrace the solution as it has rolled out to each department.”

The ability to work productively from home allows the city to function even when travel is affected, such as during severe weather, and it reduces the environmental impact of commuting. Pasanen noted, “With the option to work from home, we see people working extra hours that they might otherwise have spent commuting.”

Pori’s staff can now be more effective wherever they are. The city’s building and construction inspectors will soon have instant and secure access to planning applications and other information even when they are on building sites with no Wi-Fi access. Smartphones or tablets can use a 3G or 4G connection to connect to city systems. It will be possible to update records immediately, and the processing of necessary permits will become faster and more efficient.

Driving cost savings and greater efficiency for IT departments

The solution has helped reduce IT costs because thin-client terminals are less expensive, use less energy, and have a longer lifecycle than PCs. “We will save €100,000 ($111,000) per year from using these terminals,” Pasanen said. Citrix technology is also enabling his team to be more efficient. “With data and applications held on central servers, we can manage and secure the desktop centrally. Applications can be installed, patched, and upgraded without needing to visit every desk in all 400 locations, and data is always backed up centrally.”

With easier desktop management, Pasanen’s team now has more time to spend on the city’s strategic IT needs. “Because we can now devote additional time to innovation,” he said, “our work has become more interesting and challenging.”

Looking ahead

As the current leases expire, Pasanen and his colleagues continue to replace legacy PCs with thin clients and mobile devices. They will shortly retire the city’s ageing VPN solution, replacing it with Citrix Receiver. They will also upgrade users’ desktops to Windows 10, a simple project now that the desktop operating system runs on a central server.

In the future, Pori’s 2,000 healthcare and social workers (who use information and communications technology services from Pori and from Medbit, a specialist provider to healthcare organisations in southern Finland) may also be able to use the Citrix solution to access sensitive personal information while visiting citizens at home or at community clinics. Pori and Medbit can securely share information and infrastructure, with Citrix Receiver providing secure access to city information through personal, city-owned, or Medbit-owned devices.

The Citrix solution delivers the applications users need, wherever they want. People have been very positive and eager to embrace the solution as it has rolled out to each department. With the option to work from home, we see people working extra hours that they might otherwise have spent commuting.
- Jori Pasanen

IT Systems Specialist

City of Pori

About Citrix

Citrix (NASDAQ:CTXS) aims to power a world where people, organizations and things are securely connected and accessible to make the extraordinary possible. Its technology makes the world’s apps and data secure and easy to access, empowering people to work anywhere and at any time. Citrix provides a complete and integrated portfolio of Workspace-as-a-Service, application delivery, virtualization, mobility, network delivery and file sharing solutions that enables IT to ensure critical systems are securely available to users via the cloud or on-premise and across any device or platform. With annual revenue in 2015 of $3.28 billion, Citrix solutions are in use by more than 400,000 organizations and over 100 million users globally. Learn more at www.citrix.com.

©2016 Citrix Systems Inc. All rights reserved. Citrix, XenDesktop, XenApp, XenMobile, NetScaler Gateway, and Citrix Receiver are trademarks or registered trademarks of Citrix Systems Inc. and/or one or more of its subsidiaries, and may be registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office and in other countries. All other trademarks and registered trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Because we can now devote additional time to innovation, our work has become more interesting and challenging.
- Jori Pasanen

IT Systems Specialist

City of Pori

Industry

Key benefits  

  • Enables flexible and remote working
  • Drives cost savings and greater effciency for IT departments

Citrix product