Citrix XenDesktop Remote PC Access Deployment

Is very strategic to customers because it allows the access of people’s office workstations to any device, anywhere, anytime. One such use case is the sharing of a workstation among users who could access the workstation locally and remotely though HDX.

With current design, if a user presses the Ctrl Alt Del key sequence on the console

  1. A remote session gets disconnected
  2. This leaves an unpleasing experience for the remote user.

From XenDesktop 7.6, this use case is handled by displaying a proper message/feedback to a user attempting to access the workstation locally while a remote HDX session may be in progress on the workstation.

To make use of this feature

Add the following registry key, HKLM\SOFTWARE\Citrix\PortICA\RemotePC] “SasNotification”=dword:00000001 in WorkStation VDA

  1. Then, restart your machine.
  2. Now if a user presses CTRL+ALT+DEL to log on to that PC while it is in use by a remote user, the remote user receives a prompt asking whether or not to allow or deny the local user’s connection. 
  3. Allowing the connection will disconnect the remote user’s session. 

Note:  The screenshots on the Remote user session & console user session.

There will be blank screen when notification UI is displayed for remote user session(see image below). This could cause annoyance in some cases specially when critical apps like online meetings, phone calls or other time sensitive application is running which requires constant input like interactive games or other business application per say. But audio devices continue to function as usual…

If remote user clicks on “Allow,” the user receives access to the console. If remote user clicks on “Deny,” the following screenshot appears and user at console is denied the desktop.

The Following policy settings are available

To customize the behavior of this feature under [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Citrix\PortICA\RemotePC]

  • RpcaTimeout (dword)
  • RpcaMode (dword)

RpcaMode:

  1. 1 Means that the remote user will always win if he does not respond to the Messaging UI in the specified timeout period.
  2. 2 Means that the Local user will always win. If this setting is not specified, the Remote user will always win by default.

RpcaTimeout: The number of seconds given to the user before we automatically decide which type of mode to enforce. If this setting is not specified, the default value is :30 seconds. The minimum value here should be :30 seconds. The User needs to restart the machine for these changes to take place.

When user wants to forcibly get the console access:   The User can hit Ctr+Alt+Del twice in a gap of :10 seconds to get the control over the console..