Updated 2/9/2012

With a click of the mouse, XenClient administrators can set policies in the Synchronizer to control what users are allowed to do. There are also commands that can be run on the client to control users in other ways. Admins may want to stop users from creating or deleting local VMs, for example if the system is used in a kiosk or school. Admins may also want to stop users from upgrading XenClient software to ensure that XenClient and Synchronizer remain on the same version. To run these commands on a XenClient system, just open a terminal window (Ctrl-Shift-T), type the command, and hit the Enter key. 

Disabling Local VM Creation

By default, XenClient users can create VMs.

If an administrator wants to stop users from creating VMs, they can run the following command:

xec set vm-creation-allowed false

After running the command, users cannot create or download VMs.

Disable VM Deletion

By default, XenClient users can delete a VM by hovering over it, clicking Details, then clicking Delete.

An administrator can disable this feature by running the following command:

xec set vm-deletion-allowed false

After running the command, the option to delete a VM cannot be selected.


Disable Software Updates

By default, XenClient users can update the XenClient software by pointing to a webserver and clicking the Check for Update button.

An administrator can remove the ability to update XenClient software by running the following command:

xec set ota-upgrades-allowed false

After running the command, the Check for Updates option disappears.

Of course all these commands can be reversed by running them again and changing “false” to “true”.

Connect with the XenClient team online!